Find Posts By Topic

Mayor Durkan Announces New Department Leadership

Seattle (Aug 27) – Seattle Mayor Jenny A. Durkan announced today that Linea Laird will serve as Interim Director of the Seattle Department of Transportation, effective September 1, 2018. This month, Mayor Durkan has also transmitted the permanent appointments to City Council for: Calvin Goings, Interim Director of Department of Finance and Administrative Services; Sue McNab, Interim Director of the Seattle Department of Human Resources; and Andrés Mantilla, Interim Director of the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods.

“From filling potholes to paving streets, expanding free transit for our young people, to building out a network of safer bike lanes and sidewalks, our SDOT employees are working hard to effectively deliver critical projects and programs. Goran Sparrman quickly stepped into this role to review department operations, programs, and projects, and he instituted changes to make SDOT more agile and transparent. While he committed to only staying short term, our department is better positioned to execute on key transportation priorities because of his leadership,” said Mayor Durkan. “As we head into upcoming construction that will constrain our downtown streets, Linea will bring strong experience to oversee the delivery of Move Seattle levy and our City’s major capital transportation projects as well as expertise around Center City mobility challenges.”

Linea Laird, who will serve as Interim Director and focus on upcoming permanent closure of the Alaska Way Viaduct and realignment of SR 99, previously served as Chief Engineer and Assistant Secretary of Engineering and Regional Operations for Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) as well as the Administrator for the Alaskan Way Viaduct Replacement Program.  Laird will replace Sparrman who agreed to serve as Director from January 2018 – August 2018.

The 11-member SDOT Director Search Committee is comprised of a mix of business, transportation organizations, labor, advocates, and community leaders. The Co-Chairs include Marilyn Strickland, President & CEO – Seattle Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce and former Tacoma Mayor, and Betty Spieth-Croll, Co-Chair of the Levy to Move Seattle Oversight Committee. Other members include:

  • Rob Gannon, General Manager, King County Metro
  • Paula Hammond, Former WSDOT Secretary
  • Geri Poor, Regional Transportation Manager, Port of Seattle
  • Rebecca Saldana, State Senator, 37th Legislative District
  • Hester Serebrin, Policy Director, Transportation Choices Coalition
  • Neelima Shah, Program Officer, Bullitt Foundation
  • Richard Smith, Executive Director, Cascade Bicycle Club
  • Shaun Van Eyk, Union Representative, Professional & Technical Employees Local 17
  • Barbara Wright, Former Deputy Director of Environment Health of Public Health – Seattle & King County